New Year catch up

H A P P Y  N E W  Y E A R !

5 days in, so I’m a little late with my well wishes, but better late than never. I can hardly believe that 2011 is here already – it kind of crept up on me – especially as I haven’t even told you about Christmas yet and it’s time to take the decorations down!

Well, I was rather busy in the run up to Christmas baking festive spiced shortbread biscuits, wielding my crochet hook to make 2 pairs of wrist warmers and a brooch, and getting busy with the sewing machine to make a door stop. Phew! There was some panicked crafting, I can tell you, but I was really pleased with how things turned out. I didn’t manage to get photos of everything, so only the one pair of wristies and doorstop to show you, but no doubt I’ll be making another rose brooch soon though, so I’ll post a pic of that later!

 

I had a lovely Christmas with family, and was also able to catch up with relatives and friends. And I received some LOVELY presents! New sewing bits and bobs, jewellery, cook books and some fabulous kitchenalia including these marvellous cake stands (left, from The Bert; and right, from my sister). I’m going to have to hold a tea party I think!

Which shouldn’t be a problem as my sister’s boyfriend, Bart (I’m not joking – Bart and The Bert, you can’t make this stuff up), gave me loads of baking treats! Just L O O K!

 

Sprinkles, and writing icing, cake toppers, cherries and hundreds and thousands… what a treat! And as Bart is Dutch, they all have brilliant names: strooifeest, and schrijfstiften, cakeversierders, bigarreaux (think that might be French?) and discodip… I might need to turn another drawer over to cake decorating to store it all!

Ooh and one final thing to show you – not my own creation, but truly a baking masterpiece by The Bert’s cousin. A gingerbread model of her family house! The attention to detail is incredible. After Eight mints for slates on the main house, flaked almonds on the other roof, bourbon biscuits for the chimney, and – this still blows me away – boiled sweets melted for glass windows. When a candle is lit inside, the light shines through as if they are all at home. I’m not sure I’d have the patience – it was simply A M A Z I N G. Far too good to eat.

     

Anyway, the New Year has started well, and I’m excited to see what the rest of 2011 will bring. I could never have predicted this time last year half of what happened in the year that followed, so who knows what lies in store…

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in baking, Christmas, Craft, crochet, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Year catch up

  1. Jacquie says:

    Wow so many lovely things in this post.
    Love your makes and your gifts , and that gingerbread house is amazing
    Happy new year to you :0)
    Jacquie x

Leave a Reply

