The icing on the Christmas cake

And I’m back! Not that I’ve actually been away anywhere, just been caught up a little bit with L I F E. But here I am, and there has been lots of festive goings on in The House of Jones.

The House of Jones Christmas cake 

For starters, last night I iced my Christmas cake! I hope it’s tasty. I made the cake using a kit from Tesco’s – you know, one of those where you just add eggs and butter. Thinking about it, it was rather lazy, but it was cheap and I thought I’d give it a go. I added my own little twist to the packet instructions, soaking my fruit in booze, and adding in some molasses and golden syrup. I’ve also been feeding the cake each week with a little more booze, so hopefully it’ll be as good as if I’d made it from scratch!

Cake toppers 

A quick dig around in my cake drawers (can you believe I have a whole drawer dedicated to baking and chutney – and another drawer for icing and decorations! To think The Bert only has 1 man drawer!), and I came across the Christmas cake decorations. Yippee! They look so cute on the cake – even if I can’t get them to stand up straight!

I have also got round to hanging my Christmas crochet stars. The photos don’t do them justice. They look so lovely, and if I get round to it I’m going to make some more to hang in the window!

The Advent Tin also continues. The Advent Fairy (aka The Bert) has brought me some wonderful things, I really am rather spoilt. Every day has brough such a treat, and while I would love to show them you all, perhaps it is a little indulgent, and I’ll just show you a few of my favourites for now (I’m afraid I can’t remember which day brought what)…

Tasty little cube of cake with this little fella on the top!

Cube of Christmas cake

A hungry caterpillar badge! (my sister will be sooo jealous, not that she will admit it!)

3 fabulous cookie cutters! I didn’t get round to the lebkuchen, but I did use them to make spiced shortbread biscuits which were delicious!

Ooh and then there was this little chap! I haven’t got round to taking a picture of him all painted in, but I can assure you he looks lovely.

And then this morning there was this little puppy!

JB did not look too pleased at the arrival of another pet, even if it was only a plastic one!

I hope you are also enjoying the countdown to Christmas.

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Christmas, Cooking, crochet, JB. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The icing on the Christmas cake

  1. Jacquie says:

    Hi Jones, just catching up with your latest posts. Wow, you have one lovely fella there.
    So thoughtful and in tune with what you like.
    Your cake looks great and I bet it will taste just as good as made from scratch.
    Those stars look lovely , I know it is tricky to get good photos at this time of year .
    Oooh can’t forget JB, he’s a sweety :0)
    Hope you have a happy,relaxing Christmas .
    Jacquie x

Leave a Reply

