Feeling festive

Well it’s the beginning of December, and things are starting to feel rather festive here in The House of Jones.

We’ve already put up and decorated the Christmas tree for starters! Yes, can you believe it?! We bought a real tree (beautiful shape, don’t you think?), and some gorgeous decorations to go with bits and pieces we had already. At some stage I’m going to make some extra felt decorations to add the personal touch – just need to find the time! We’ve not had space for a proper big tree before, so it’s very exciting to have it here in our new house. In actual fact, we had the switching on of the lights at the weekend – I half expected the Advent Police to come and tell us off for being so festive in November!

Rather an unusual decoration for the top of the tree, but The Bert and I were rather taken with the little owl. We’ve named him Brian and he shall be overseeing Christmas this year!

The Advent stockings, a present from my mum a couple of years ago, are also up around the fireplace. I love these stockings. They make everything seem so Christmassy in their red, green and white felt. They originally came with chocolate coins in the daily pockets, and each year the Advent fairy comes and refills them. This year, she has also put in some other treats for when we get near to the big day. Y U M!

I’ve also dabbled in some mistletoe this year. I got it from the nice man at the market, and we’ve hung it around the house to spread some festive loving!

And finally, what do you think of the crochet stars that I’ve made? I’ve only got a few more to do before I string them up. Oooh I just love them!! They have also been the first bit of crochet which I have undertaken outside the safety of The House of Jones. That’s right – I have been partaking in some public hooky!! I started one on a park & ride bus, and I made two in the staff lunch area at work (oh yes, I forgot to tell you I am back on the 9-5!). I felt a bit self-conscious to begin with, but I soon realised that it was most unlikely for anyone to be watching, like really watching, and even if they were, it didn’t really matter. Who knows where I’ll take my hooky next! Back to the stars – I’ll post a picture when they’re all hung up. Can’t wait!!

Oh, crikey, not finally – completely forogt about the snow!

We woke up to a light covering yesterday morning, hardly anything compared to other parts of the UK but it was really lovely nonetheless. The white icing on an already festive start to December!

I hope that you’re starting to feel Christmassy too, wherever you are!

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Christmas, crochet, General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Feeling festive

  1. Jacquie says:

    Hi Jones , thankyou for your lovely comment on my post.
    Wow , where do I start with yours ?! Sooooo many great pictures and crochet to boot !!
    Love your tree, and your picture where the lights are blured – stunning .
    Love your stockings , so festive. Maybe I should make the boys some of these , much prettier than the cadbury’s version .
    Love your Stars especially the two where every round colour changes .
    Yikes need more time to make some . I can’t really crochet at work, but good on you for flying the hooky flag :0)
    Happy Advent
    Jacquie x

Leave a Reply

