Amigurumi and other things

I seem to have developed a slight obsession with amigurumi, the art of crocheting small stuffed animals or toys. I’ve not tried it yet, but I love searching to see what is possible. And I was delighted to come back from my jaunt visiting friends and family in the south-east to find that the amigurumi book I ordered has ARRIVED!! Yippeeeee!!! I am beyond excited!

There are so many lovely things to make, I just don’t know which to start on first, it is quite a predicament. The zebra?

or the cute little penguin?

but then the giraffe is rather lovely…

… and so is the puppy

or what about the fluffy sheep? 

Gaaaa, and this is only a small selection of the patterns! It really is a gorgeous book – the photos are lovely, and the instructions look like they’re going to be really easy to follow. Only problem is there is too much choice! I will keep you posted on what I choose for my first venture.

In other news, the wrist warmers are all finished (photo to follow); my orchid, which was deemed to be beyond the grave, has sprouted a lovely long flower shoot…

… and my hyacinths are attempting to flower!

And if all that wasn’t enough, my gorgeous friend Coco very kindly donated me a HUGE bag of fabric!! So with that and the amigurumi, I am going to be VERY busy! Thank goodness it is almost the weekend! Not that there will be much time for craftiness – The Bert’s sister is coming to stay, hooray!!!

I hope that you have a great weekend planned too!

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in amigurumi, crochet, General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Amigurumi and other things

  1. Emma Butler says:

    Oh my gosh, I LOVE these creatures! I’d love to try and make one – do you think they’re difficult? I was given an amazing crochet nativity set at the weekend – just gorgeous – Mary holding Jesus, Joseph, the three wise men, an angel and two little sheep. All made out of crochet. I’ll have to try and work out how to upload a photo on to here for you. xx

  2. Ahh that sounds amazing!! Definitely send me a pic. I’ll let you know how easy the amigurumi is, I imagine stitching the body parts together with be the hardest part. xx

  3. Pingback: I kid you not! | The House of Jones

Leave a Reply

