Quiet time

The Bert is working from home today, which means that I have got to be Q U I E T. Something which I’m not at all good at. Even when I’m by myself I am often humming or singing or generally clattering about. However, I think this is a good opportunity to indulge in some quiet hooky. I bought some beautiful wool from a little shop in Bourton-on-the-Water at the weekend. It is one of those magic colour-changing wools and I am so excited to be making something with it!

 

It is going to be the beginning of project wrist warmer! I love wrist warmers, they are so much more practical than gloves, and I never find that my fingers get too chilly – I’d rather that anyway and be able to do Things, rather than have to be constantly taking gloves on and off! I bought the wool to make wrist warmers to coordinate with my GORgeous new winter coat which I accidentally(!) bought the other weekend. It was one of those purchases which crept up on me – I wasn’t at all shopping for a coat, but the more I thought about it, the more I realised that I needed one. Sometimes I think this style of shopping leads to more successful purchases than if I had been searching for something particular, because when you desperately need something, the shops don’t seem to have it! Anyway, I was so delighted with the New Wool and it really picks out the pink in the coat perfectly.  

 

So, here I go! I have only done a couple of rows so far, but I must say I am already very excited! And as my friend Emsie pointed out, it is so much easier when the wool changes colour by itself! It means that there won’t be lots of sewing in ends, yet I still get a striped effect. Hooray!

Ooh they are going to be sooooo lovely! I’ll keep you updated on my progress, posting a picture when they are done. Hopefully in time for holding a sparkler this weekend! Yippeeeee!!

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in crochet. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quiet time

  1. niasunset says:

    I have the same yarn with the same colours and I did a lovely jacket and also a vest… I love crochet and knitting… Thank you, with my love, nia

Leave a Reply

