Lemon & Lime Curd

I’ve been cooking again! Yesterday, after a little wander around town, I quickly whipped up a batch of lemon and lime curd. I usually just make lemon curd – it’s surprisingly easy to make, and far tastier than even the best shop-bought offerings – but The Bert encouraged me to try adding some lime this time. So I set about amending my usual lemon curd recipe with great enthusiasm! and the experimenting seems to have paid off – still the sweet lemon flavour, with a slight tang of lime.

So, here is my recipe:

Ingredients

  • grated rind and juice of 2 lemons and 1 lime
  • 4oz caster sugar
  • 2 medium eggs
  • 2oz unsalted butter, cut into small cubes

Method

Place the caster sugar and grated rind of the lemons and lime in a glass bowl.

 

In a separate bowl, beat the eggs with the juice from the lemons and lime…

…and then add to the sugar/citrus mix.

Next, add the butter and place the bowl over a pan of simmering water.

Whisk continually until thick (approximately 15-20mins)… it should be thick and glossy…

…and pour into sterilised jars. 

Keep in the fridge and use within one month.

Scrummy!!!

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Cooking, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lemon & Lime Curd

  1. Dad says:

    Lemon and lime curd looks delicious. Any samples?!

Leave a Reply

