Project Needlecase!

Today was a busy day! Not only did I set up The House of Jones blog, but I finally got round to project needlecase! I bought all the stuff weeks ago, but have been too busy wielding my crochet hook to work out how to go about it. As luck would have it, my friend VPL came to visit yesterday and she too wanted to make a needlecase, and even brought all the stuff with her! What are the chances?! Inspired, we both set about planning dimensions, embellishments, etc etc. I was most happy as it required a trip to the sewing shop to get extra supplies! 

Now I’ll be honest with you. I’m not good at making decisions. Yesterday I was all set to make it entirely out of felt. A nice maroon cover, with white pages, little button fastening. Mmmmmm. But for some reason I was stalling.  VPL had stormed ahead – it was practically finished, and all I had managed was to cut the inside felt pages (the only thing I was certain about, and I got to use my pinking shears!) as my attempts at making the fastening, and stitching the edge on the machine had failed! 

I’ve only recently acquired my sewing machine and I’m definitely still a beginner when it comes to using it. If anything I feel a little scared! My confidence is growing though, and I’m getting good at going in straight lines on a straight stitch. Talk about small steps! One day I’ll try making something with the other settings!! 

Anyway, this morning I had renewed enthusiasm for project needlecase. I decided to go with a fabric cover with felt pages. Which is what VPL had gone for, and hers looks FAB! So cute. Gorgeous little buttons on the front, I love it! I think she loves it too. There was a lot of looking at it adoringly, picking it up and opening it, putting it down and picking it up again, and a bit of caressing – but let’s face it, I think we all do a little of that when we finish a project!! I know I do! A few weeks ago I made a crochet hook roll, and I am still so in love with it! It makes me so happy every time I untie the little ribbon and take out one of the hooks. In actual fact I thought it made sense to make the needlecase to match – same fabric, thread etc. And I’m SO PLEASED! ooh it’s such a delight!! What do you think? 

Project needlecase complete!

Fancy a go? It is 4″ x 3.5″ with four felt pages, and a felt pocket at the back to hold wool needles, and things that can’t be jabbed through the felt. Maroon fabric, with a floral lining. I did a little top stitch around the inside and used the machine to sew in the felt pages, which I had cut with my pinking shears (any excuse!). Look how nice it looks next to the crochet hook roll… 

Matching! Love it!!

Ooh and look at the little pocket! So cute!!

See the pocket? Just a little bit of felt, ready to hold non-pointy needles

And there we have it!! 

Well it’s getting late and The Bert will be back from work soon and I’m hungry for dinner, so I’d best get onto that. Let me know what you think of the needlecase. And if you have a go, please tell me how you get on! 

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Craft, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment