Mandala for Yarndale

You know that bandwagon that’s been storming around blog land and craft groups? Yes, the Mandala band wagon? Well, I’ve hopped on!! Whuuu whuuu!

I’ve been stealing moments while our Little Man has been napping or content playing on his own. Moments which probably should have been spent tidying or cleaning but hey ho!!
Little Man is napping a bit more in the day now and usually in bed (and most importantly, asleep!) by 8.30pm, so I’ve found some time in the evenings too to craft. It’s felt good!

I’ve not made a Mandala before, ooh but I can see that this won’t be my first and last – bit addictive this colour play, isn’t it!

I followed the Spring Mandala pattern on Made in K-town to begin with, until I realised that I’d overlooked the sizing… hmmm that wasn’t going to be big enough for Lucy.

And so I freestyled the following rounds til I hit the right size. So happy with the result!!!

Mandala for Yarndale ©The House of JonesI used Stylecraft Special DK in white, fondant, pomegranate, sherbert, aster and demin. I used a 4mm hook, and the final Mandala measures 20cm across.

I really love it! the colours just look so fresh and inviting.

I’m going to attempt now to write out the pattern for the rows – not in detail, just hopefully enough information in case you fancy a go yourself. You’ll find detailed information for the first 7 rounds on the Made in K-town pattern.

**Just to save confusion, I’ve written out those initial rounds in UK terms, which is how I’ve written my final rounds for the Mandala – if you hop over to Made in K-town, the pattern is written in US terms**

  • Round 1: Magic ring, *1 tr, ch1* x 12
  • Round 2: *1dc, ch2* in each space from R1
  • Round 3: *tr3tog, ch3* in each ch2 space from R2
  • Round 4: work 4tr in each ch3 space from R3
  • Round 5: work surface stitches between the tr of R4
  • Round 6: a double round worked into the stitches of R5
  • 6a: work *1tr, ch2, skip one stitch* around, join with slst to first tr, finish off
  • 6b: (new colour!) fold the stitches you’ve just made a little bit to the front and repeat round 6a, working into the stitches you’ve skipped before, finish off
  • Round 7: work 3dc into the ch2-spaces of the previous round, finish off. Make sure you insert your hook into both spaces of round 6a and b!

Just a reminder – the First 7 rounds are NOT my pattern, but were the beginnings of my final Mandala. The original pattern by Made in K-town for the Spring Mandala is here.

So, if you’re carrying on to make a bigger Mandala, here are the rounds I worked:

  • Round 8: work *dc, ch1, skip one stitch* around, join with slst and finish off
  • Round 9: work *dc, ch2, skip one stitch* in the ch spaces of R8
  • Round 10: work 3tr in the ch2 spaces from R9
  • Round 11: work surface stitches in between the tr of R10
  • Round 12: another double round – same as R6
  • 12a: work *1tr, ch2, skip one stitch* around, join with slst to first tr, finish off
  • 12b: (new colour!) fold the stitches you’ve just made a little bit to the front and repeat round 6a, working into the stitches you’ve skipped before, finish off
  • Round 13: work 1htr in between each stitch from R12a and R12b (making sure you pick up work over both colours!)
  • Round 14: work *1dc, ch3, skip 2 stitches* all round the edge. My final one was skip 3 stitches, but I don’t think you can notice!

Ta dah! Here’s a close up of all the rounds if it helps::

Mandala Wheel for Yarndal close up ©The House of JonesI really enjoyed making this! It’s the second project I’ve completed since our Little Man was born – I can’t wait to show you the other one, a bright striped blanket for my new niece!

Anyway, was pleased to complete my Yarndale Mandala and get it sent off to Lucy. Wow, can’t believe so many have been sent in already – almost 1,000! I’ve enjoyed looking at them all on the Yarndale pinterest boards. Amazing how they are all so different! I can’t wait to see how they are displayed in September… YES! I AM GOING TO YARNDALE!!!

I wasn’t sure if it was going to be possible this year what with our Little Man and it being a very  l o n g  way from The House of Jones. Not ideal for a weekend dash like I did last year. But then I came up with a cunning plan! The Bert and I had been talking about taking a little holiday, so I suggested maybe we could go to Yorkshire, and maybe it could be at the end of September, and maybe I could take Little Man to Yarndale, and The Bert could go fishing (hoping there is some good fishing near Skipton?) and then we’ll enjoy the rest of the week exploring Yorkshire and having a Jolly Nice Time… Well, to my delight The Bert thought this was a great idea, and so last week we booked ourselves a little cottage and yippppeeeee, my plan is going to happen!! So I’m hoping there will be an opportunity for a bloggers meet or something. We’ll have to arrange something nearer the time. Let me know if you are hoping to go!

In the meantime, happy Mandala making… let me know if you spot any errors with my pattern, I’d love to know how you get on.

Jones x

 

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Craft, crochet, pattern and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mandala for Yarndale

  1. Jacquie says:

    Hi Jones, I love your mandala….the colours you chose are so pretty.
    I’m happy to hear you are going to Yarndale! We must make firm plans to meet this year.
    Jacquie xxx

  2. Hey, so nice to hear from you. Love your mandala, great colours. I am sure your little tribe will enjoy your trip to Yorkshire, it really is a lovely county. I am going to Yarndale too so maybe we will meet wanderinf the isles.

  3. carol partridge says:

    Glad your ” cunning plan” worked . I enjoyed Yarndale last year. My other half enjoyed the canal walk. We spent half the day at the show and the other half in the town. Lucy already has my mandala….wonder if she has any room left in her house ! I was thrilled to see mine on the pinterest board.

  4. Jacquie says:

    Hi again Jones, Yes do drop me an e.mail. Hope life is good. I’m looking forward to meeting up and seeing all those mandalas in one place, should be stunning.
    Jacquie x

Leave a Reply

