♥ Made with love: Chocolate Pennies ♥

For Valentine’s Day last year, I made The Bert some handmade truffles. They seemed to go down well, but perhaps what was more successful were the chocolate pennies I made with the left over melted chocolate – basically over-sized chocolate buttons.

Pink tulips ©The House of JonesThis year, I decided that chocolate was once again an excellent gift for the one I love, so this morning I’ve made a selection of turbo-charged chocolate pennies, topped with scrummy delights which make them look oh-so professional and hopefully taste yummy too!

These were super quick to make, and you can tailor your pennies to whatever your loved one likes. The Bert is a big fan of dark chocolate, and he loves fruit, so these Dark Chocolate and Raspberry Pennies are sure to hit the spot:

Dark Chocolate & Raspberry Pennies ©The House of JonesFor a bit of fun, I found chocolate popping candy – so I’ve also made some Milk Chocolate Firecracker Pennies, as well as leaving some undecorated and simply drizzling milk over dark, and dark over milk for the final pennies.

Milk Chocolate Firecracker Pennies ©The House of JonesIf you’d like to make some, all you need is 150g each of milk and dark chocolate (I used Waitrose own-brand). Melt the chocolate in separate bowls over pans of simmering water and then let it cool slightly before dropping teaspoonfuls onto greaseproof/baking paper. I made 60 pennies, each approximately the size of an old, large penny (~3cm diameter). Then let your imagination go wild! There are lots of lovely toppings for icing these days in the home-baking aisle, and ice cream toppings in the dessert aisle. What about little pieces of honeycomb, or small pieces of crystallised ginger? Or how about chilli flakes or dropping some peppermint essence in with your melted chocolate for a minty treat?

Chocolate Penny toppings ©The House of JonesOnce your pennies are ready, pop them in the fridge for a few hours to harden, before lifting with a palette knife and arranging into boxes or bags ready to gift. Mine are chilling at the moment, but I’ll be boxing them up later and hoping The Bert is impressed by my skills of domesticity!

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in baking, Cooking, General chit chat, recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ♥ Made with love: Chocolate Pennies ♥

  1. Christine says:

    Those look fabulous! I’m sure your husband will be thrilled. How did you get them into such a lovely round shape? I would love to try making these but I can’t begin to imagine the mess I am likely to make! I’ve really enjoyed your recent baking posts and wish you well as you wait for your bundle of joy to arrive!

    • Thanks Christine! The shape was actually very easy – they just sort of turned out that way when I dropped the spoonfuls of choccie on the paper. I gave them a little press with the back of the spoon to help smooth them down. Provided you wait for the melted choc to cool slightly so it’s not really Really runny then you shouldn’t make too much of a mess!
      Jones x

  2. sandiart says:

    They look and sound delicious, hope the Bert liked them, sure he would tho’ xxx

  3. Bev says:

    Those look wonderful! I hope you’re enjoying your share of them as well!

  4. billiken1 says:

    You are very clever! They look ace x

Leave a Reply

