The Wetlands Cake

Hello lovelies, alright?

I was looking at some old pictures last week and I came across these photos of a cake which I made The Bert for his birthday back in 2010. I have to admit I had forgotten quite how good it was! I know that sounds terribly big-headed, it’s not meant in that way, just that I remember all the planning and preparation, the care and attention to get it Just Right during the making and, well, the pictures were better than I remembered!

It was quite sweet actually, as at my hen party in the summer (which was IMMENSE by the way!) my bridesmaids had asked The Bert some Mr & Mrs questions, one of which was ‘What is the best cake Jones has ever made you?’ and he had answered ‘The Wetlands Cake!’

So, although they are not recent pictures, I thought I’d share them with you anyway…

Ready? Here it is… my Wetlands Cake… ta-daah!

Wetlands cake © The House of Jones

The cake itself was a victoria sponge, with some added lemon zest and lemon juice to the mix. It was sandwiched with jam and vanilla buttercream. I cut away part of one side to create the drop down to the water, and added it to build up the bank on the other side.

Across the water, wetlands cake © The House of Jones

Nearly all the decorations were edible – except the ducks and the cocktail stick bullrushes. The stones were chocolate pebbles, the reeds were two types of green laces/icing, and I used raisins for the tops of the bullrushes (incidentally, The Bert tells me the proper name for what I’m calling bullrushes, is reed mace – ooh you learn something new every day!).

Close up, wetlands cake © The House of Jones

When it came to the icing, I used Sugarflair paste in Christmas Green and Baby Blue to colour buttercream icing. I didn’t completely mix it so that it would add some depth, adding extra paste to make the dark grassy hill under the mallard. I also sprinkled green and blue sherbet over the top so that the surface of the water glistened as if the sun was shining on it and the grass had a slight shimmer.

Birds eye view, wetlands cake © The House of Jones

And when it came to adding the candles – well they had to be little water lilies!

Water lily candles, wetlands cake © The House of Jones

Ahh, the best cake I ever made! So lovely to find it again, and to see I’d taken so many pictures of it – I must have known I was going to share it with you at some point!

I’d love to see some of the cakey creations you’ve made, perhaps it will give me inspiration for The Bert’s 2013 birthday cake,

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in baking, Birthday, Cooking, General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Wetlands Cake

  1. Louise says:

    oh wow that cake is amazing!! I’m so glad you shared it, you did such a brilliant job. I have to ask, where did you find chocolate pebbles?!

  2. Jacquie says:

    It’s simply wonderful Jones, I’m in awe….cake decorating is something I’m pretty rubbish at.
    All the little details in this are perfect….it really makes me smile…..thank you for sharing :0)
    Jacquie x

  3. Julie says:

    I’m so glad you took all those photos – your cake is just amazing! I love all the little details and how inventive you were in choosing the different elements to make them. Inspirational! x

  4. Anne says:

    It is the most amazing cake I ever seen, I love your photos! Very inspiring :)

  5. Pingback: 52 weeks of happy (13/52) | The House of Jones

Leave a Reply

