52 weeks of happy (2/52)

Hello!

It’s been a bit of a difficult week, one way or another, so I was pleased to be able to focus on nice happies, and once I got started, I found there were quite a few – I’ll have to save some to next week!

1. Progress

Our new fireplace © The House of Jones

We picked up this gorgeous cast iron fireplace at the end of last week, and I completely love it! The void in the lounge has needed something to fill it, until such a time when we can afford to put in a log burner (certainly not any time soon, sadly). A few searches on sites like ebay and preloved and this jumped out. It is ornate but not really fussy, in really good condition and didn’t break the bank. Yippeee! I’ve popped some candles in it for now, but plan to lay it like we’re about to have a fire soon!

2. Posh chocolates

Posh chocs © The House of Jones

A gorgeous gift from The Bert’s dad, who came to visit us, along with The Bert’s sister, this weekend. There aren’t quite so many in the box now! Bon bon-bons, indeed!

3. A sunny day

Swan overhead © The House of Jones

Sunday was such a lovely weather, it made such a difference to have a bit of sunshine on a useful day when we could actually get out and enjoy it. Which is what we did, with a visit to Slimbridge. I think this was the first flying swan I’ve ever seen!

4. Fresh flowers

Fresh flowers © The House of Jones

I haven’t really made any proper New Year’s resolutions, but I have decided to have more fresh flowers in the house this year. I so enjoyed the tulips we brought back from Amsterdam, and these replacement ones (currently only £2 a bunch in Tescos!) are just as lovely.

More happies next time! I’m slowly catching up, maybe next week’s 3/52 will be in the 3rd week of the year!

I hope that you’re having a happy week,

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in 52 weeks of happy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

